Scavenger Hunt Journal Challenge

Challenge # 1 using tea bags, tags and a tea bag packet

I’ve been having a great time this winter participating in a scavenger hunt challenge, creating pages based on a list sent to me by Janet at Monkey Island Madness on Ustream. I have a problem keeping my creativity going and this project seems to solve that problem. There is always another challenge to work on if I want to do some crafting. Today, I thought it would be fun to show what I’ve done so far.

I’m using my day planner from 2017, the paper is thin, but I like the spiral binding because I know that the pages will expand and I need to have room to grow.

The first challenge, shown above, is pretty self explanatory. I’ve been collecting tea bags so I used them as the background. I added a doily and a teacup from a stamp that I carved, some tea bag tags along the top and it was done. I think this may be my favorite page so far.

Challenge #2 Coloring book page

I am just not cut out to do coloring book pages. I managed to color in these 2 ornaments, but knew that I wouldn’t get the background finished so I cut out some scrapbook paper and glued it down. I used the metallic and glittery samurai pens so it looks much nicer in real life than in a photo.

Challenge # 3 labels off of blankets,clothes, etc

I decided to do a laundry day clothesline for the labels. I think I need a few more, and add a laundry basket to the picture.

Challenge #4 ask a neighbor or friend to add something

Well, I already had this hanging doodad given to me from my art friend Joanne so I created a wallpapered wall and doodled a frame around it. Now I feel as though I have a special place to keep it.

Challenge # 5 Include something you would normally throw away.

I think this was the first challenge I actually did. I created a wastebasket using a plastic wire bag that you get with fresh fruit and tucked a bunch of Christmas trash into the top. I have a Christmas crown from a cracker, chocolate coin wrappers, a scrap of wrapping paper and some clothes tags.

Challenge #6 photo of a celebrity you either love or hate.

Now tell me the truth, do you think that I love or hate this actor? I got a little bleedthrough on the last photo, so I will probably be replacing that one. The other photos represent some of his iconic roles thru the years. I think he’s held up pretty well, don’t you?

Challenge #7 flower or a leaf.

A work in progress. First I sprayed the background with bright spray ink, then drew in the flowers. I filled it the background with a black marker, and begin to embellish with a white pen. It’s going to take a while to finish this one.

Challenge #8 a puzzle…

I do love jigsaw puzzles but nowadays I only do them online. I tried to take a photo of one of the completed puzzles and use that, but couldn’t get it to work. So I bought a kids puzzle from the dollar store, put it together and took a photo of it, since it was too big for my journal page. Done! I also added a bunch of completed word search puzzles as the background.

I’ve been working on this project since the beginning of January. The deadline for the challenge is March 1st. With 68 items on the list, I probably won’t finish in time. So what? I’m having a lot fun and it gets my creative juices flowing.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Scavenger Hunt Journal Challenge

  1. Fun challenge topics here. I especially love the first teabag/cup piece and also your calendar with the laundry line! But they’re all fun.

Leave a comment