Happy Chinese New Year

I stopped in to pick  up some Chinese takeout yesterday, only to find the restaurant packed with people –  a crowd at the door, either waiting for a table or, like me, waiting for their takeout order. I had forgotten that it was Chinese New Year.

I decided to celebrate in my own way (besides the food) by making a decorative paper lantern in honor of the occasion.

First, I picked out some decorative paper from my extensive collection.

img_20170129_224958.jpg

and cut it down to about 41/2 – 5 inches high and 12 inches long. This was an impromptu craft so I was just estimating the size.

img_20170129_224744.jpg

The lantern would be a diamond shape so the paper was folded out in the center “mountain” with 2 “valley folds” at either end.

img_20170129_224417.jpg

I needed something for the light to shine through, so I die cut 2 filigree strips and backed them with vellum.

img_20170129_224826.jpg

The tricky part was to cut a strip in the center of the outer and inner parts of the lantern and glue the vellum strips . But, after a lot of finagling, I finally got it all together. The vellum strips were safely sandwiched between the outer and inner sections.

I glued the two short ends together to create the squared shape so it would stand on its own. I may still add some embellishments to it, as it still seems a little plain, but I like the finished product. I added a flickering light in the middle (sorry, real candles make me a little nervous that close to paper) and sat back to view the effect.

img_20170129_225340.jpg

Happy Chinese New Year!

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in art, crafts, holiday, New Years, paper art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Chinese New Year

  1. joannethiemehuffman says:

    A nicely artistic way to celebrate the New Year. I don’t think it needs any further embellishment; I think it’s nicely elegant.

  2. I LOVE this, Jill! It’s fun and happy. I’d leave it as is. Sometimes enough is just enough!

Leave a Reply

