Getting Away – Altered Book Round Robin

Christmas is in the air so I decided to show off my altered book round robin project with a holiday theme. Chris had decided on her book theme as “Getaway” but when I got her book in December I thought that the one place I would want to be at Christmas is home, with friends and family together. I used my favorite holiday song “Home for the Holidays” and created a little village on the pages of her book.img_20160406_182530.jpg

All the houses are dark except the small blue one. It is bright with warm lights, a decorated tree and a wreath. Over the door it says Home Sweet Home.

img_20160406_182445.jpg

The houses were painted, cut out and glued on to the scene; white paint for snow was sponge-dabbed on the ground and roofs of all the houses. I also included some hand-carved snowflake stamps and stickle dots for a bit of shine.

img_20151207_110821265.jpg

I hadn’t planned it, but when it was completed, I took a look and decided that I must have been inspired by Dr. Seuss’ Whoville from The Grinch who Stole Christmas. Most appropriate for the season.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in altered books, christmas, hand carved stamps, holiday, round robin and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Getting Away – Altered Book Round Robin

  1. joannethiemehuffman says:

    I remember loving this spread when I first saw it. Still love it.

Leave a Reply

