Altered Book Round Robin pt 1

My art group decided to do an altered book round robin.Each person would pick a theme and find a book for altering, as well as do a 2 page spread as an example in her own book. Then each month we would pass the book we had to the next person in line (in alphabetical order) and do a spread in their book, using the theme they chose. We had ten members interested, so at the end of 10 months we would get our own books back filled with a page from everyone.

My book was actually a Smash Book published by K&Company that my sister gave me a year or 2 previously.  The pages seemed thicker and stronger than the pages of a real book, the better to take the gluing and painting that would be done on it, and the spiral binding was designed to handle the thickness of added materials glued on. Since I knew that I would never use it as it was originally intended, I felt it would work perfectly for the altered book project.

I decided that my theme would be called wishes and dreams. I thought that it was broad enough for all sorts of interpretations and hoped that my art friends could create all sorts of fantastical worlds on the pages.

IMG_20150803_085312217    My cover page (I decided to wait and create the actual cover when I got my finished book back).

The sample spread was a simple collage. I printed and cut out 2 Mucha girls, then glued them back to back on a clear acetate sheet. I then created 1 page with a butterfly theme and the other page using a bird theme along with the proper wings. The acetate page could be flipped to the left and the girl would have butterfly wings – flipped to the right and she had bird wings.

IMG_20150803_085454IMG_20150803_085519

The 2 separated pages showing the acetate on both sides, first on the left, then right so the girl has her wings in place.

IMG_20150803_085617This photo shows the whole spread, with the acetate on the right side, the butterfly wings are alone and waiting.

It wasn’t like anything I had ever done before, but I was excited and looking forward to working in everybody’s book each month, not to mention getting my book back after 10 months with a little piece of art from my friends.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in altered books, art, collage, round robin and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Altered Book Round Robin pt 1

  1. joannethiemehuffman says:

    A great summation of a fun project.

Leave a Reply

