Altered Books

After several years of wanting to work on altered books, I’ve finally had the opportunity to create one!

I made my first altered book last spring as a part of an exhibition at the Kalamazoo Book Arts Center. A staff person there, who is also a part of one of the art groups I belong to, came to a meeting and asked if we would consider contributing to the exhibition. Many of the women in the group had 6 or 7 altered books that had been completed over the years, but I hadn’t any. I thought that this would be a great opportunity to at least try an altered book so I enthusiastically signed up for the project.

I really enjoyed the process of working on the book, and really felt proud to have my book displayed alongside my much more experienced artist friends.

IMG_20151016_223121

I used an old Reader’s Digest condensed reader book and titled the project “Water”. I then gathered lots of vintage illustrations and filled the glued down pages with all sorts of ocean creatures. I added a pet store treasure chest in the cut out part of the book, glued down sand for the ocean floor and used some real shells to finish it off.

IMG_20150601_102735281

IMG_20150601_102725732 (1)

IMG_20151016_223121 (1)

When I get more time, Id like to do more altered books, perhaps an “Earth” and a “Wind” to go with the “Water”.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Altered Books

  1. Last Minute Lynn says:

    Your book is absolutely gorgeous and amazing for a first timer! Your great photos show it beautifully! You should be very proud!

  2. It is beautiful! Something I’ve always been interested in doing. Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

