Back in Business Again

I think I can safely say that 2013 was a very trying year for me. Even blogging was an effort so without really meaning to, I ended up taking a year off from writing and took fewer photos. Now we have a new year to look forward to, and I’m ready to start again.

Let’s start the New Year off with a box that I’ve just completed. I bought the box from Hobby Lobby a year ago. It had an interesting design and an asian look to it, reminding me of a cricket cage.

I hung onto it until this August. One of the art groups I belonged to decided to get together and try a project using chalk paint. It seemed the ideal time to try the new paint and cover the box. I did not like the end result at all. The color selection was limited so I chose a sky blue and a dark wax to cover and age the piece. Blue was the wrong choice. I kept thinking of it as Chinese looking box and that it should be a dark red, not sky blue.

The box sat on a shelf until November when I discovered Inka Gold. It is a creamy type paint with bits of mica for shine and is applied with a clean rag or your fingers. You just buff it after applying to create a sheen. No wax, no varnish – and it comes in several colors, including a bright red. It smells a bit like shoe polish, but is much softer.

wpid-IMG_20140102_222132.jpg

After I sanded off the wax from my previous attempt, I applied the red. Loved it! The slats in the box really took a long time but well worth it. I replaced the cheap clasp closing the lid with a nicer one, added some legs and corner bits from Tim Holz and lined the inside with some Graphic 45 paper.

wpid-IMG_20140102_211748.jpg

wpid-IMG_20140102_211633.jpg

wpid-IMG_20140102_212017.jpg

wpid-IMG_20140102_211859.jpg

Now I wish that I had taken some before shots, to compare with the end result and final piece. I guess I hated my first attempt so much that I just couldn’t take a picture.

Side note: I just started taking an online class called Creative Jumpstart( http://www.nathaliesstudio.com ) and as part of the class, we were asked to show and tell something from one of the Luminarte products. I already loved their twinkling h20s and silks, but had no idea they also produced Inka Gold as well. Guess I can add that to my list of favorite products.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in assemblage, crafts, New Years, painting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Back in Business Again

  1. Last Minute Lynn says:

    I liked the box in blue, but I love it in red! I have never seen this product, but the result is outstanding!

  2. It certainly looks beautiful – and Asian. I’m going to have to look into this inka gold stuff.

  3. morningdove says:

    wow I love boxes too, yours is so beautiful. isn’t it amazing what happens when we go with our instincts. just discovered silks and twinks last year, didn’t know about inka gold. thank you for sharing your project.

  4. Cindy L says:

    Your box is just beautiful! I have used Inka-Gold on projects and love it too. I can only imagine how much time you put into this box with all of the intricacies. It should have a special place in your home and be treasured for generations! BTW, I found you from the CJS website.

  5. lehtipollo says:

    Perfect! Love how you decorated the box according to your vision.

  6. this is cool- love the box and the color. Thank you for playing along in CJS2014!

  7. mandysea says:

    This is gorgeous! What a stunning colour.. I had no idea either… must try get some!

  8. gardenjoy4me says:

    Hey there Jill ! .. I came here to talk about my Canada Lily but also have to say WOW! on your project .. it is gorgeous !
    In any case .. hope you check comments from here .. I bought that lily maybe 6 or 7 years ago and haven’t seen them since .. it was sold as a native plant from a different distributor so I have no idea other than checking all the “native plant” distributors possible and maybe they can send you in the right direction to a company that has them. It takes a LONG time for them to mature and flower .. so it took a lot of patience !
    Good luck girl !
    Joy

Leave a Reply

