Weekly Drawing Challenge 3

I’ve been participating in a weekly drawing challenge, along with one of my art group friends Joanne, and her friend Jeanie. We take turns making up themes, drawing our interpretations then emailing the results to each other. This batch of sketches takes us up to mid-December.

I hope to improve my drawing skills but some drawings are good, some not so and the quality of the drawings seem to see-saw back and forth, rather than any consistant improvement. It’s kind of discouraging.

Here is a rundown of the current batch and my notes for each.

Am I Blue
IMG_20120930_182231

I did this one quite some time ago, but I forgot it in the last post. Most of my drawings were roughly sketched out in pencil, outlined in a fine point Pitt pen, then colored in with Tombow markers. For this picture, I added some colored pencil shading and a bit of colored spray over a stencil to create a background.

Self Portrait
IMG_20121215_174630

I really didn’t like how this one turned out. Cheap paper does make a difference in your work. Always go for the better paper. I had some real difficulties getting the tombows to blend properly when I painted with them. I had this picture in my head of what I wanted to do, it was a good idea but I just could not get it down on paper properly. I ended up cutting off a good bit of the bottom,then, finding the background boring sprintzed some of my water color spray which spattered in the wrong spot. I’ll try this one again at some future date and see if I can do a better job.

Grateful
2012-12-15_16-15-26_199

Self Portrait, Grateful, Flight and Winter is Coming were all done on the same afternoon. Where I really didn’t like how the Self Portrait turned out, I really loved doing Grateful (I forgot the theme and called it Gratitude.) I had a lot of fun figuring out how to stack the books, how to color and shade them, even in deciding what the titles would be. And even though I used the same paper as the self portrait, the tombows behaved and I was able to spread the color nicely with my water brush. Then I got over zealous with the spray again and spritzed too much black water spray. I wanted a light mist, what I got was heavy splatter. I ended up with a picture difficult to see, but if you can see past the spray, it looks pretty good.

Flight
IMG_20121215_174108

I like the drawing minus the birds. The birds didn’t turn out as I had pictured them, but I liked the autumn grass in the forground and the big autumn sun hanging in the sky. However, I didn’t sketch out the birds in advance and it might have made a difference if I had. By this time, I had figured out the sprays and this is a nice orange color that blends in as a part of the background.

Winter is Coming
IMG_20121215_174802

Another fun one done on the same afternoon. I know winter is coming when I dig out my thermal knit shirts and leggings, my warm scarves, mittens and boots. The shapes were simple, but it worked for me, I liked the colors and shading and thought it addressed the theme with some humor.

I’ll have another batch of drawings in a few weeks.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in art, drawing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Weekly Drawing Challenge 3

  1. joannethiemehuffman says:

    I always love seeing how you interpret the themes and I’m always impressed by your drawings.

Leave a Reply

