Weekly Drawing Challenge

Continuing with my weekly drawing challenge, the three of us participating emailed our results to each other. Even though I’m usually a week or 2 behind, I feel that the more I continue drawing, the more confident and comfortable I will become with this medium.

My contributions to the trio include:

2 drawings for the chocolate themed week. I wasn’t happy with the colored pencil drawing of the hot chocolate, so I did the 2nd as a water-color of the chocolate mint plant in my garden.

The next week had to do with our animal friends so I took a photo that I had of my cat Sammi and worked a drawing of her using my Pitt pen.

Autumn – my favorite time of year. I love the colors, the clear crisp days and the stiff breeze that tries to blow all the leaves off the trees. I used the metallic faber castell gellato sticks as a kind of water-color. They left a glittery look to the leaves and wind, but you can’t really see it in the photo.

At this point, it was pretty close to Halloween, so I wanted to do a large Barn Owl done in white on black paper. It ended up evolving into a whole Trick or Treat scene. I used black gesso and a white water-color crayon. The crayon gave me a lot of problems and I couldn’t do much in the way of detail. I’ve got to work with white on black some more.

I do believe that this is my favorite drawing. The theme was I (heart) it, and Joanne had done a lovely zentangle piece. I had recently gone to see Peter Kageyama, author of “For the Love of Cities”and it got me thinking about how much I really love my home town and state of Michigan – despite all its’ problems. I decided to zentangle a drawing to honor my love for where I live. I like this well enough that I want to actually draw it again (to fix up the lettering) and perhaps do something with it. I used my Tombow water-color markers and Pitt pen.

I’m almost caught up. The last theme for this posting was a household object. I decided to do a drawing of my camera. It’s a good quality point-and-shoot Olympus and I rarely leave home without it. I did an ink drawing using my trusty Pitt pen in a composition book. It did come out a little lopsided but I’m satisfied with the attempt.

Some things I’m discovering about my drawings. I like watercolor (or the Tombow markers worked as watercolor) best; I tend to sketch the drawing out in pencil than outlining my work in a permanent ink pen before adding color; I’m better at drawing the imaginary than the realistic and my favorite drawings tend to have a kind of cartoony style. I also think that I’m okay with that.

I want to get better at this and in order to get better, I’ve got to keep working at it.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in art, drawing, goals, halloween, Kalamazoo, Michigan and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weekly Drawing Challenge

  1. I love seeing them all together, The Michigan mitten is my favorite, too; but, I really do love them all.

  2. I love looking at all of these together — it really shows what you can do. I am PROMISING to do art over the holiday. I should probably start with the new ones, but may try some oldies to catch up! (And thanks for your comments on my post!)

Leave a Reply

