A Summer of Art

image An accordion book made outdoors with lots of spraying.

This has really been a miserable, hot summer. I finally had to break down and buy a room air conditioner so I could sleep through the nights. I am so grateful that I spent the cash because my age finally caught up with me as I started getting hot flashes as well. I never would have made it otherwise.

Of course, it is only one AC and it was in the bedroom. Though I can do some lettering and drawing in there, painting was out of the question. My craft room was just too hot so I began doing most of my work outside; either early in the morning or in the evening until the sun went down at around 10pm.

I live in the city, where the neighbors are close and noisy. Babies crying, spouses loudly arguing, cars zooming by without mufflers or music blaring are all a part of where I live. Still I have a small backyard full of birds and flowers where the background noises are muffled. I would settle in my deck chair, in the shade, with the sprinkler going to help cool the air and attract the chickadees and cardinals (who loved to bathe as the water moved back and forth) and I could paint and cut and glue and spray to my hearts content.

image   A nice spot in the shade.

August has come, along with cooler weather, but I still prefer working in my spot under the trees. I think I’m more productive and I definitely have more room to work. I’m not sure I’d actually call it inspirational but it is very peaceful.

The days are getting shorter now and there is less time to work. Once the days get cold I’ll be forced to move it all inside. It will be more difficult to do any spraying and my craftroom isn’t as nice as the backyard. Still, I’ll do my best to keep it cozy and warm.

image  Inspiration from nature?

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in art, art journaling, biographical, crafts, Michigan, nature. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Summer of Art

  1. joannethiemehuffman says:

    Yesterday I did some eco-dyeing on my deck because it’s hard to do inside (studio cleanup about 1/4 done) and because it was such a nice day to work outside. Maybe we’ll have a beautiful fall full of great arting weather. I like your accordion book.

  2. marmeladegypsy says:

    I know what you mean about spraying and working outdoors. I think I’ve probably painted my last journal of the season and done the last of any dyeing. But there’s always Indian summer. I really love the colors on these pages. Accordion books are such fun!

Leave a Reply

