Abstract Postcards

I’m Baaack!

I know, you never really missed me – but I ended up taking a very long blog sabbatical. Every night after work I would come home and say, “tonight I will work on my blogs” then end up vegging out and going to bed.

Even though I haven’t been writing, I have been creating arts and craft pieces and as always, taking lots of photos.  Now I feel inspired to write again.

So on with Today’s Topic!

 I belong to a few online art groups. Two of the groups are local, but I also belong to one that has membership from all over the globe. They are a very active, very supportive group of women. They also have monthly challenges and monthly online workshops.

This month’s challenge is abstract painting and we are to create 3 postcard sized abstract paintings. The smaller size is to lessen that blank canvas phobia feeling we can get when starting a new project. Once the postcards are done, we will mail them to the group administrator for a swap.

I’ve never intentionally created abstract art before, but the backgrounds I create for my art journals are all very abstract-y so it ended up a very easy and fun project.

Here is the final result:

I decided to call this one Spring Meadow

called Sunset

Reflections in the Water

I just used my Dr. Ph Martin watercolors, some water-soluble spray inks, and a little gesso. One cool thing I discovered about gesso is, if you apply it over water colors, the paints bleed through creating a softer color.

To be entirely honest, I did not actually plan on painting a sunset, I just played with the paint until it seemed completed; then decided that it looked like a sunset. Probably a backwards way of working – but I can be very contrary (it’s from being a southpaw AND an Aries!)

Now all I need to do is get them in the mail and wait to see what I will be getting in return…

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Abstract Postcards

  1. joannethiemehuffman says:

    I like all three of these. And, Interesting info about gesso and watercolors. I DID miss your blog posts.

  2. marmeladegypsy says:

    These are really gorgeous. I think I could learn a lot from you! So glad to visit!

    • Jill-O says:

      Thanks…I’d like to say that I knew what I was doing when I made these, but I really don’t. I just kept playing with the watercolors and sprays until the pictures made some kind of sense. It helped to just pretend I was making a background for an art journal.

Leave a Reply

