Jack-in-the-Pulpit

I’m currently working on a book swap, where each person contributes a page, then receives a whole book at the end of the process. The theme is flowers and color. 

The color theme I’ve got is green, so I had been trying to come up with flowers that are green. Bells of Ireland and Lady’s Mantle were rejected and I had pretty much decided on the green coneflower, “Green Envy” when a co-worker suggested the Jack-in-the-Pulpit. It was a perfect choice. It appealed to me on several levels: an interesting shape, attractive flower,  a woodland native that I grow and love, and a whimsical name.

I quickly came up with a clip-art illustration of the flower and was able to carve a large (6×10 inch) stamp in the basic shape. Last night I printed a test page and was very pleased with the results.

The stamp, still wet from the paint.

It still needs a little cleaning up, but I think it looks pretty good as is.

This came together so well, that I’d like try a whole series of flower prints.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in art, crafts, hand carved stamps, nature, printmaking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jack-in-the-Pulpit

  1. Joanne Thieme Huffman says:

    I’m really impressed with your stamp carving. I love your Jack-in-the-puppitpage.

  2. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    This is fabulous. I have done a book swap in the past. It is a lot of fun.
    I also have a garden and an art blog. I see that you are going to the Asheville Fling. I will look forward to meeting you. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

