Doodling a Winter Wonderland

So far, winter has been very disappointing.

I seem to be in the minority I like snowy, cold winters, but we’ve had very little snow so far and the temperatures keep popping up into the 40’s and 50’s (F) during the daytime hours.

I had an ATC swap with the theme of Winter Wonderland and decided to do a little doodling for the card and try out some of my pens.

Trying to decide how to draw Mr. Snowman

The doodle that I finally came up with. Now I need to put in some kind of background and I’ll be able to use this for my art journal.

My final snowman on an ATC.

and the backside…still need to work on the lettering and the glitter got a little out of control…

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in ATCs, paper art and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Doodling a Winter Wonderland

  1. It just doesn’t seem right to be having such mild weather now. I like your jaunty snowman.

  2. Lisa says:

    Jill, I love seeing your progression from sketch to finished work!
    -lisa

  3. xlalalalisax says:

    I agree with the comment above – I like how you’ve shown the thought process involved. I love the finished snowman. Has he got his landscape yet? 🙂

    • Jill-O says:

      Unfortunately, I’ve been working on getting my former sewing room revamped into a craft room and that seems to be taking all of my spare time. That, and I haven’t quite worked out what I want to do. I usually work on the background first, than add the focal point, so I’m working backwards from my normal process. The ideas that I’m mulling over are: do I want to cut out the snowman and glue him on to an all ready-made background or try to create a background around him? Do I want some kind of texture for a 3-D effect or just use my paints and pens? I’m probably overthinking things, but once I’ve decided (and clean all the wayward fabric off my work table) I’ll finish him off. I just hope it isn’t Easter by the time I’m done.

Leave a Reply

