An Artful Halloween

Our neighborhood never has much in the way of Trick-or-treaters at Halloween. We usually get a few toddlers and kindergarteners before dark, but the older kids head over to the nicer neighborhoods where the stash is bigger and better. This year I actually had a play rehearsal on Halloween so I had to find other ways to celebrate the holiday.

I had this idea to make a special Halloween mask for Titania, Queen of the Fairies. It would be loosely based on a wall sculpture that my Mother owns, called the Green Man.

I got a cheap plastic mask and bought silk flowers at the dollar store.

The mask didn’t want to take the glue at first, until I covered the whole thing first in a soft gel medium, let it set, then did the gluing. The mask actually came out pretty well, except it looks more like an owl, than the Queen of Fairies.

Ah, well, the next time I try this, it will come out better.

I was lucky to be working the evening that the Lord of the Gourds, a professional pumpkin sculpture, was carving pumpkins at the Library. His work is amazing.

Once they were finished, the Library kept them on display for the holiday.

The artist group that I belong to had a Halloween themed get-together on the Thursday before. Each month we have a themed challenge and this month it was Halloween ATCs to exchange.

Mine were dark and skeletal, displaying skulls with Shakespeare quotes appropriate to their emaciated state.

  Here are the ones that I got when we exchanged cards.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in art, ATCs, halloween, holiday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An Artful Halloween

  1. The mask is cool. Maybe we should do a mask challenge for Mardi Gras…And, I really like your ATCs.

    • Jill-O says:

      I’d like to try another mask – one made of autumn leaves – though after seeing those big snowflakes falling today, perhaps it should be a snowflake mask.

      I really enjoyed making the ATCs. They are a nice size to work with.

Leave a Reply

