Happy All-Hallows Eve – Art Journal Page

I went through a period where I thought that Halloween was for kids – not really for the grownups. However, ever since I’ve been doing the artistic stuff, I’ve been looking at the holiday with new eyes – through pumpkin-colored glasses.

It is a wonderful holiday with great dark and humorous images. So I decided to create a page for my art journal. I’ve also got a couple of pages from last year, when I was first getting into art journaling.

Originally, I had wanted to experiment with image transfers, so I transferred the skull on to black gesso, using a gel medium to glue down a copied image on the page. When it was dry, I used a wet washcloth (and my finger) to remove the paper backing,leaving  the image behind. The skull looked very light and ghostly on the page. I liked the look, but it was difficult to see, so I used water soluble crayons to darken the black holes and highlight the outer edges so it could be seen.

Then I stenciled a spider’s web across the top corner, using a cardstock stencil I made protected with some mod podge that I am trying to use up.

While the white paint was still wet, I spritzed some red and silver paint on the page. The picture still needed something, so I made some bats and spiders and glued them on. The verse is the witches’ speech from Shakespeare’s Macbeth.

last year’s page, titled October Nights, again uses a black gesso base with bits and pieces of trees from various magazines covered with a black watercolor wash, some cut out owls and a border with one of my favorite Halloween poems.

Tonight is the night

when dead leaves fly

 Like witches on switches

Across the sky,

When elf and sprite

Flit through the night

On a moony sheen. 

Tonight is the night

When leaves make a sound

Like a gnome in his home

Under the ground,

When spooks and trolls

Creep out of holes

Mossy and green.

Tonight is the night

When pumpkins stare

Through sheaves and leaves

Everywhere,

When ghouls and ghost

And goblin host

Dance round their queen.

It’s Halloween.

                               By Harry Behn

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in art, art journaling, halloween, holiday, transfers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy All-Hallows Eve – Art Journal Page

  1. I like your Halloween pages. I use the “Double, double toil and trouble” quote a lot on Halloween (mostly to my daughters who just roll their eyes at me).

Leave a Reply

